Hero Image

Star Ranks

Star Rank Information

What are the 4-H star ranks and other awards?

County 4-H staff and 4-H clubs are responsible for coordinating star ranking awards. The star award ranking system is a voluntary advancement program utilizing the Personal Development Report form (part of the 4-H record book) as a goal setting tool, aimed at encouraging broad-based participation and achievement in 4-H.  4-H members record their participation in eight categories for the current 4-H program year on the Personal Development Report.  Activities are totaled for all years in 4-H and star awards are given to those 4-H members meeting the requirements.

Junior, intermediate and senior members may all strive for star ranks. Each star level takes an average of two years to complete. Star rank achievers receive a tangible star, which is often attached to the 4-H hat.

bronze star

Bronze Star: Complete at least 5 of the 8 PDR categories.

gold star

Gold Star: Complete at least 7 of the 8 PDR categories.

silver star

Silver Star: Complete at least 6 of the 8 PDR categories.

Platinum Star

Platinum Star: Complete at least 7 of the 8 PDR categories.

Emerald Star

The Emerald Star, which is sponsored by the county 4-H office, is a process that does NOT include a record book. The Emerald Star program is designed for intermediate and senior 4-H members.

 Need an idea to get started on the Emerald Star planning process?  Review just a few of the ideas that have come from the leaders and members.

Click on the Emerald Star tab for the application.

More awards!

The Leader's Council has presented and adopted new awards that members can apply for each year:

Mo Co awards list

Rising Star award - COVID Revised

MO CO Star presenter - final

Co council committe chairman pin-final